Florida’s No-Fault PIP Insurance
In the US personal injury laws can differ drastically, from state to state. For instance, the state of Florida is one of the few states that has no-fault PIP insurance laws on the books. And while these laws were instituted to protect motorists financially, over the years they have caused issues and been met with a fair share of criticisms. Because of the issues with the laws, it is important to have a quality legal mind on your side, to help you navigate through the confusion. With years of experience practicing in the state, Ruskin personal injury lawyer Anissa Morris, Esq. can help you to circumvent the confusion, on the path to getting the justice you deserve. With her guidance, you can learn the ins and outs of filing and following through on a personal injury claim in Florida.
In the state of Florida, just because you have personal injury protection (PIP) insurance does not mean you lose the right to file a lawsuit against any motorist who may have caused a collision that may have caused permanent or long-lasting injuries. According to Ruskin person injury lawyer Anissa Morris and her team at Spinner Law Firm, the state of Florida defines a permanent injury as one that results in one of the following three items.
· The significant and irreversible loss of any bodily functions
· Significant and irreversible disfigurement or scarring
In the state of Florida, personal injury protection (PIP) or no-fault PIP insurance has become mandated for all drivers. PIP is designed to pay for any injuries you might sustain during any car accident, regardless of which driver was at fault.
What is Covered?
Like other states with similar laws like New Jersey, Florida’s PIP insurance covers the following items:
· Medical Costs & Bills
· Lost Wages
· Death Benefits
Generally, in Florida, the minimum amount given as personal injury protection or PIP damages are around $10,000 in total damages – meaning that this $10,000 is designed to cover about 80% of your medical expenses and 60% of your lost wages. And under Florida’s no-fault insurance laws, you are able to file a personal injury claim against the negligent motorist if the damages that which you have incurred are more than the amount provided by your PIP coverage. A top-flight attorney like Ruskin personal injury lawyer, Anissa Morris will help you to recover any additional monetary damages from the at-fault motorist.
What Medical Costs are Covered?
For the most part pretty much all medical costs are covered through PIP insurance, except certain popular but not widely accepted practices such as acupuncture. In addition, in Florida, you must choose whether you want your PIP coverage to include all the members of your household or just yourself. For both you and your loved ones PIP covers 80% of the following costs – medical services, medication, surgery, hospital bills, rehab costs, diagnostic tests, ambulances & transportation.
Economic Benefits for Florida’s PIP
If you were hurt or injured in an accident, in the state of Florida, and might have been left disabled, Florida PIP insurance will cover only 60% of your lost wages – up to a $10,000 limit. This covers anything you would have been able to do but can no longer due specifically to the accident. Including things like – daily chores, cleaning up, laundry, childcare, caring for pets & animals, and other household jobs. In addition, if by chance the PIP policyholder were to be killed during the accident, PIP insurance would cover their funeral & burial expenses, in addition to all of the above. The person’s next of kin or closest family would be entitled to $5,000 in those damages. Florida’s no-fault PIP insurance is designed to help those in certain instances, but for others it may not be anywhere near enough and further legal actions must be taken. For more information on filing a claim for damages in the state of Florida, contact Ruskin person injury lawyer, Anissa K. Morris, Esq. today.